clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dates announced for 2018 NBA Summer League featuring all 30 teams

The Hawks will be in Vegas again and they’ll be joined by the entire league.

2017 Las Vegas Summer League - Milwaukee Bucks v Cleveland Cavaliers Photo by Garrett Ellwood/NBAE via Getty Images

The Atlanta Hawks make an annual pilgrimage to Las Vegas to take part in the NBA Summer League. In recent years, the majority of the league has followed, with only a handful of teams choosing to spend their time participating in the Orlando and/or Utah Summer Leagues at the expense of spending 10(-ish) days in the desert.

On Tuesday, the NBA announced that, for the first time, all 30 of the league’s teams will be in one place during July and that location will, of course, be Las Vegas. The 14th annual edition of the Las Vegas Summer League will be held from July 6 through July 17 at the Thomas & Mack Center and Cox Pavilion on the UNLV campus and the event will be adding an extra day (from 11 to 12) to accommodate the infusion.

As usual, every team participating will be guaranteed five games, with a handful of squads progressing in the tournament with an eye toward claiming Summer League glory. That has not always been particularly fruitful for the Hawks but, in the same breath, five games can provide a real window into what kind of young talent the team has to offer (especially for the squad’s rookies) and, in 2018, Atlanta is expected to make several prominent draft picks that, in theory, would appear.

The full schedule, including that of the Hawks, will be announced closer to July but, for now, we know that the organization will be fielding a team in Las Vegas and we’ll be on site to provide coverage. Stay tuned.