The game began to get chippy as it progressed, and the referees assessed Howard with a second technical foul, ejecting him from the game.
Later Monday evening, the NBA sent out a release saying that Howard shouldn’t have been ejected.
From the release:
“The second technical foul called tonight on Atlanta’s Dwight Howard for hanging on the rim (4:03 remaining in the third quarter at Boston) should have been deemed non-sportsmanlike and should not have resulted in his ejection.”
Howard received his first technical foul after he shoved former Atlanta Hawk Al Horford after a hard foul. The second technical came just over five minutes later.
According to the AJC’s Chris Vivlamore, Howard said that he should have received a warning.
“That should be more of a warning,” Howard said after the game. “I did the same thing in the first half and nothing happened.”
Apparently the league agreed with Howard.