clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta Hawks don’t fare well in NBA All-Star voting

Hawks players come up short in All-Star voting returns.

NBA: Philadelphia 76ers at Atlanta Hawks Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

There will be no Atlanta Hawks in the starting lineup for the 2017 NBA All-Star Game. Fan voting has normally elected the starters for the All-Star game but this year the league elected to make a change adding a player and media element to the process. Fans still accounted for 50 percent of the vote with the players and media accounting for 25 percent each.

The Hawks didn’t fair well in the fan element with Dwight Howard the overall winner garnering just over 151,000 votes. Perhaps the biggest slight here (and more evidence that fans shouldn’t be involved in the process at all) was Paul Millsap’s 39,000 total. Dennis Schröder was the top finisher among guards ranking 20th with over 23,000 votes.

2017 NBA All-Star Fan Voting

Name Position Total Votes Rank
Name Position Total Votes Rank
Dwight Howard Frontcourt 151,155 13
Paul Millsap Frontcourt 39,551 20
Kent Bazemore Frontcourt 5,684 61
Mike Dunleavy Frontcourt 5,010 69
Thabo Sefolosha Frontcourt 3,059 81
Tiago Splitter Frontcourt 1,725 99
Kris Humphries Frontcourt 1,666 100
DeAndre' Bembry Frontcourt 1,521 102
Mike Muscala Frontcourt 1,030 113
Taurean Prince Frontcourt 890 115
Mike Scott Frontcourt 587 123
Dennis Schröder Guard 23,565 20
Tim Hardaway Jr Guard 6,193 44
Malcolm Delaney Guard 1,890 71

A total of 324 players participated in the All-Star voting. Millsap was Atlanta’s leading vote getter with a tally of 13 which tied him for 12th place in the East frontcourt. Howard finished a bit further back capturing just six votes. Dennis Schröder was the top finisher among guards finishing with three votes. DeAndre Bembry, Taurean Prince, Mike Muscala and Malcolm Delaney all registered one vote each which suggests that at least one Hawks player might not have taken his vote too seriously.

2017 NBA All-Star Player Voting

Name Position Total Votes Rank
Name Position Total Votes Rank
Paul Millsap Frontcourt 13 12(tie)
Dwight Howard Frontcourt 6 19(tie)
Kent Bazemore Frontcourt 3 28(tie)
DeAndre Bembry Frontcourt 1 60(tie)
Mike Muscala Frontcourt 1 60(tie)
Taurean Prince Frontcourt 1 60(tie)
Thabo Sefolosha Frontcourt 1 60(tie)
Dennis Schröder Guard 3 26(tie)
Malcolm Delaney Guard 1 41(tie)

The media vote was a little more direct as was to be expected. Millsap was the only Hawks player to receive a single vote and one of just 11 Eastern Conference frontcourt players.

2017 NBA All-Star Media Voting

Name Postion Total Votes Rank
Name Postion Total Votes Rank
Paul Millsap Frontcourt 1 8(tie)

So a few exit questions before we close this. Who did the best job of voting and did you like the format? If the NBA continues to chop up the vote, should they give the media and the players more weight? Let us know in the comments.