clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta Hawks to participate in the 2016 NBA Summer League

The summer Hawks make a return.

Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

The Atlanta Hawks will yet again be participating in the NBA Summer League. The Hawks are among 24 total teams to participate in the league, along with 11 playoff teams from the 2015-16 NBA season. The Philadelphia 76ers will also participate, with 11 other teams that hold lottery picks, which should make for a fun, and future star-filled summer league.

The 2016 NBA Summer League will be from July 8-18 at the Thomas & Mack Center and Pox Pavilion in Las Vegas on the UNLV campus. It will will feature a tournament-style schedule and culminate in a Championship Game for the fourth consecutive year. Last season, the summer league Hawks were able to make their way to the semifinals of the tournament, before being bounced by Becky Hammons' San Antonio Spurs, who would go on to win the Las Vegas Summer League championship.

The new addition to the summer league this year is the Memphis Grizzlies, who haven't been in Las Vegas since 2013. There will also be another NBA D-League Select team this year. Participating teams will compete in three preliminary games beginning on July 8 before being seeded in a tournament that leads to the Championship Game on July 18.

Stay tuned for a schedule of games and broadcast information.