clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marvin Williams Awarded Jason Collier Memorial Trophy For His Dedication To Community Service

Scott Cunningham/NBAE/Getty Images
Scott Cunningham/NBAE/Getty Images

Hawks forward Marvin Williams was honored before the San Antonio game by the Atlanta Hawks with the Jason Collier award. Jason Collier is a former Georgia Tech and Atlanta Hawks center who died tragically in 2005. In his honor, Atlanta gives out a memorial trophy in his name that rewards a player for his dedication to community service. Here is the official release:

ATLANTA, GA ----- Prior to this evening’s Atlanta Hawks vs. San Antonio Spurs game at Philips Arena, the Hawks’ Marvin Williams was awarded the Jason Collier Memorial Trophy by the organization for his dedication to community service.


The Jason Collier Memorial Trophy, named after the late Hawks center who passed away October 15, 2005, is presented annually to the individual who best exemplifies the characteristics Collier displayed off the court as a community ambassador.  It is the second time Williams has won the trophy (2007-08 season).


A frequent participant in community and charitable endeavors throughout his six seasons with the Hawks, Williams currently serves on the Special Olympics Georgia (SOGA) Honorary Board, and is a spokesperson for the organization’s "r-Word" campaign.  In addition to making an annual to donation to SOGA, last September he hosted a charity bowling event which helped raise $6,000 for the campaign.


Especially active during the holiday season, Williams has hosted the "Flicks & Kicks" event the last five years, treating children to dinner and a movie, and passing out gifts.  This past December, the Hawks forward purchased gifts for disadvantaged people as part of the Hawks Adopt-a-Family program, and made a monetary donation to the Hosea Feed the Hungry & Homeless effort. 


Additionally, Williams purchases tickets to each Hawks home game for a number of area youth groups and has participated in post-game meet & greets with community organizations.  He also joined teammates Etan Thomas, Josh Smith and Jamal Crawford in visiting the Metro Regional Youth Detention Center on March 9, where the quartet offered advice and encouragement to incarcerated young men.


This is the sixth year the Hawks have awarded the trophy.  Past recipients include: Josh Smith (2009-10), Al Horford (2008-09), Marvin Williams (2007-08) and Josh Childress (2005-06 and 2006-07).